The Gift

On Thursday, April 4, 2013, I was given an unbelievable gift. I was laid off. Now, you are are saying being laid off iz a nightmare not a gift. Believe me in my case it is a gift, a big present wrapped in fancy paper and tied up with a huge frilly bow. Let me explain. I was working as a manager with the Quebec Civil Service. So, I received a gold plated severance package. It is extremely, extremely generous. I have up to three years, paid, to find a new job.  I will let you catch your breath.

No need to host a pity party for Lisa! Yes, you read right.  I will be paid for three years, pension, benefits, the works, while I look for a new job or while I retrain for a new job. You understand now why it is a gift.

The problem is my gift is still sitting on my kitchen table.  It is still all wrapped up with the fancy bow jutting from the top. I have yet to unwrap my gift.  I have this awesome. No, awesome isn’t awesome enough of a word, I have this colossal opportunity to reinvent myself. To find a job, no I do not like the word job. It connotes something we have to do to get a bi-weekly cheque. To find a vocation that ignites me. Thrills me.  Makes me want to get out of bed in the morning. It is time to Reinvent Me.

I invite you to tag along as I try to figure out Lisa 2.0.

QUESTION:  If you have lived through a similar experience please let me know what you did to figure out what you wanted to do with the rest of your life.

Leave a comment